Author Topic: A message from mystic  (Read 1769 times)

June 07, 2012, 11:44:15 AM
Read 1769 times

Koujiryuu

• Posts By Osmosis

• Scholar-Warrior

• Personal Text
    內功。導引
    • View Profile
This is a message mystic wanted me to pass along to you guys.

He's a regular poster on the BEA forums. 8 years ago, he had a website called "ki-teachings.com", and I was a Teacher there. I've known him for a long time, and he actually helped peer review/edit the course content. Since he cared enough about you all to send this to me, I'm posting it here.

While I understand Kouji has a qi gong study group in session at the time of this writing, I wanted to clarify a few things that will only serve to help what you guys could be doing with Kouji in his study group. The group covers a lot of areas that may be important to generate optimum health as well as provide some basic understanding of Dao. That in itself is a great thing to undertake. But in the process of that undertaking, there are some recommendations that need to be made only to help your progress.

I think the first thing is to know what your goal is - what do you expect from performing these practices? Do you expect them to aid other practices? If you practice them exclusively, what is it you want from it? The question seems pedantic, especially when one considers the myriad aspects of Daoist cultivation. However, the question is an important one because it determines the "path" that one takes. My path and goals is not synonymous to your path. While I want to gain a deeper philosophical, anthropological and ontological understanding of the schools associated with the longmen pai sect of Daoism, not everyone is going to have that same intent. Some want better health, some want better concentration. In that, they are both applicable goals. Know what you want to deal with first. That creates a path in and of itself.