Author Topic: Partitioning/Windows 07  (Read 8602 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

October 16, 2009, 08:37:10 PM
Read 8602 times

`Nazukarr

  • Posts By Osmosis

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 631
  • Karma:
    14
    • View Profile
1) What's a good, user-friendly program I can use to partition my hard drive?

2) Should I install Windows 7 to replace Vista? Why, specifically? I assume its more efficient but I want my computer to run smoothly too.
I am not this hair, I am not this skin, I am the soul that lives within.

October 16, 2009, 10:06:12 PM
Reply #1

kobok

  • Tech Team
  • Posts By Osmosis

  • Offline
  • *****
  • Veritas Council

  • 4985
  • Karma:
    171
  • Personal Text
    Veritas Council
    • View Profile
1) What's a good, user-friendly program I can use to partition my hard drive?

GParted live cd.

2) Should I install Windows 7 to replace Vista? Why, specifically? I assume its more efficient but I want my computer to run smoothly too.

Yes.  Vista is terrible, Windows 7 is better.  Also, go for Windows 7 64-bit.  For the first time, MS has released a Windows version which seems to work reliably in the 64-bit version.  It's not quite the stability or ease of installation or use as Linux is these days, but Windows 7 is at least a step in the right direction, and seems a substantial improvement over Vista.
Latest article:  Construct Dynamics

Want to learn psi?  Check out our collection of psi articles.

October 17, 2009, 07:20:27 AM
Reply #2

`Nazukarr

  • Posts By Osmosis

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 631
  • Karma:
    14
    • View Profile
What if my computer is 34-bit? I don't really know what the bit system is and how it works.
I am not this hair, I am not this skin, I am the soul that lives within.

October 17, 2009, 01:43:17 PM
Reply #3

Sethair

  • Posts By Osmosis

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 754
  • Karma:
    0
  • Personal Text
    The souls of the True shall always remain strong.
    • View Profile
What if my computer is 34-bit? I don't really know what the bit system is and how it works.
32-bit*

It depends on your hardware. Check up on all the hardware in your system and see if it is 64-bit compatible. If I am not mistaken, just about any computer that is at least shipped with Vista is 64-bit compatible, even if it doesn't have Vista 64-bit on it. Please, someone correct me if I am wrong.
▲ ▲

"We're whalers on the Moon, we carry a harpoon. But there ain't no whales so we tell tall tales and sing our whaling tune"

 My Blog 
My Art!!!

October 17, 2009, 03:09:18 PM
Reply #4

Big Boss

  • Posts By Osmosis

  • Offline
  • *****
  • Friggen Crazy

  • 1458
  • Karma:
    3
  • Personal Text
    Owner of 100000 V-Points
    • View Profile
    • I'm a trendy blogger now.
You have to have a 64-bit processor to run a 64-bit Operating System. Look up your processor on wikipedia or something and you can tell. A lot of processors these days are leaning 64-bit, but are being shipped with 32-bit systems. This isn't always the case though, so be sure to check up on it.

Only 64-bit Vista is shipped with 64-bit processors. I've kept a pretty close eye on the mass produced PC's out there and they're all mostly 32, except for a couple systems with 4 or more gigs of RAM. Those all have 64 bit processors.

So anyway, Naz, go with Windows 7 64 if you can, or Windows 7 32 if you have to. If you can't do either, do Linux before you do Vista.
Join my Folding@Home team and do some good! #159490

Details at http://folding.stanford.edu/

October 17, 2009, 07:35:37 PM
Reply #5

kobok

  • Tech Team
  • Posts By Osmosis

  • Offline
  • *****
  • Veritas Council

  • 4985
  • Karma:
    171
  • Personal Text
    Veritas Council
    • View Profile
It's pretty hard to buy a new 32-bit cpu these days.  They've all been 64-bit for almost 5 years.  Only Windows has been lagging behind.  Most computers in this time have been shipping with 64-bit cpu's having a 32-bit version of Windows installed (which of course cripples the system so that it only supports 32-bit software while that OS is running).
Latest article:  Construct Dynamics

Want to learn psi?  Check out our collection of psi articles.

October 18, 2009, 01:50:40 PM
Reply #6

Big Boss

  • Posts By Osmosis

  • Offline
  • *****
  • Friggen Crazy

  • 1458
  • Karma:
    3
  • Personal Text
    Owner of 100000 V-Points
    • View Profile
    • I'm a trendy blogger now.
Good to know. I figured they just divided the processors up with the OS they were shipped with...
Join my Folding@Home team and do some good! #159490

Details at http://folding.stanford.edu/

October 19, 2009, 11:03:58 PM
Reply #7

Rafnul!

  • Veritas Moderator
  • Posts By Osmosis

  • Offline
  • *****
  • he-who-posts-lots

  • 1084
  • Karma:
    30
    • View Profile
If it has two cores, it's 64-bit.

And buying anything older than a core2-duo is pretty unlikely since they only cost like 35 bucks.