Author Topic: No wireless on Ubuntu  (Read 1547 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

October 31, 2008, 07:28:02 AM
Read 1547 times

Orthas

  • Posts By Osmosis

  • Offline
  • *****
  • Veritas Archivist

  • 574
  • Karma:
    1
  • Personal Text
    Page of Cups
    • View Profile
Ok so I just installed Ubuntu but unfortunately my wireless device doesn't seem to be working.  I've been trying to install the windows driver but the help tells me to install something that isn't there, here's the screeny.



“And you shall drink your cup alone, though it taste of blood and tears, and praise God for the gift of taste.” -Almustafa, Garden of the Prophet.

Quid quid latine dictum sit, altum videtur


October 31, 2008, 09:24:35 AM
Reply #1

Big Boss

  • Posts By Osmosis

  • Offline
  • *****
  • Friggen Crazy

  • 1458
  • Karma:
    3
  • Personal Text
    Owner of 100000 V-Points
    • View Profile
    • I'm a trendy blogger now.
Join my Folding@Home team and do some good! #159490

Details at http://folding.stanford.edu/

November 01, 2008, 11:14:56 PM
Reply #2

Aurafire

  • Posts By Osmosis

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 1175
  • Karma:
    63
  • Personal Text
    Village Idiot
    • View Profile
Google map of Area 51 background?
Patience is never inherited nor acquired, but only practiced everyday.

November 03, 2008, 11:23:52 AM
Reply #3

Jeckel

  • Veritas Furniture

  • Offline
  • ****
  • Hundred-plus Club

  • 334
  • Karma:
    0
  • Personal Text
    nothing more to say
    • View Profile
yeah, I had wireless issues with Ubuntu back when I put it on my laptop. linux is usually wireless retarded in some fashion.
Just a wishful thinker with the worst intentions.

The dreams in which I'm dying are the best I've ever had. - Mad World

November 03, 2008, 12:37:52 PM
Reply #4

Sethair

  • Posts By Osmosis

  • Offline
  • *****

  • 754
  • Karma:
    0
  • Personal Text
    The souls of the True shall always remain strong.
    • View Profile
I had that problem when I put Ubuntu on my buddy's laptop. Just find the b43xx firmware and install it using the fwcutter. Its usually because of Broadcom Chipsets.


Of course, my advice only works with Broadcom Chipsets. :P
▲ ▲

"We're whalers on the Moon, we carry a harpoon. But there ain't no whales so we tell tall tales and sing our whaling tune"

 My Blog 
My Art!!!

November 13, 2008, 04:37:07 PM
Reply #5

Redefine

  • A Familiar Feature

  • Offline
  • ***

  • 242
  • Karma:
    0
    • View Profile
or use ndiswrapper from the command line. ubuntu SHOULD have that one.
On a concrete road to recovery
cause I'm knocking over every cone
in front of me.